Community Members,

To keep our patrons and employees out of harm’s way, the Library will not be open for regular business until at least Wednesday, April 8. Of course this timeline is subject to change based on the latest recommendations from health professionals. By preventing people from gathering together, we can slow-down the spread of this dangerous virus.

The Library has stopped charging for overdue materials and we will waive existing fines. Due dates for checked-out items will adjust with our closure dates. For your safety and ours, please do not return materials while we are closed.

Though the building is not accessible for now, the Library still provides a number of resources you can use from home. Staff members are adding updates to our website and Facebook page on a daily basis. You may download e-books and audiobooks; stream movies, television shows and music; read digital newspapers and magazines; and participate in online classes. Explore the website for more information about virtual opportunities and be sure to check-out the Library’s Local History page. There are all kinds of great images and descriptions about Oak Lawn’s past.

We are now looking at ways to provide limited remote services to patrons. Be sure to stay connected through our website and our social media outlets for updates. And please, please, please continue to take all necessary precautions.

We hope to see you back at the Library very soon,
Jim Deiters, Director

Board of Trustees

Meet the Board
  • Joan Buschbach, President (seated right)
  • Sue Whisson, Vice-President (seated left)
  • Joe Skibinski, Financial Secretary (standing far right)
  • Suzanne Marzano, Secretary (not pictured)
  • Pat O'Donnell, Trustee (standing far left)
  • Sean Kelly, Trustee (standing center)
  • Roseann Spoto, Trustee (standing center)

Connect anytime with all board members by filling out this contact form.

Oak Lawn voters elect trustees for six-year terms. The Board meets the third Tuesday of each month at 6:45pm in the Oak Lawn Rotary Room (lower level); the public is always welcome.

The Board of Trustees of the Oak Lawn Public Library is responsible for governance and overseeing the provision of Library services to meet the needs of the Oak Lawn community. To this end, the Board shall:

  1. Determine Library policies
  2. Employ a capable Library director
  3. Secure adequate funds for Library operations
  4. Approve expenditure of Library funds
  5. Provide and maintain adequate facilities
  6. Ensure a representative selection of Library materials
  7. Promote use of the Library within the community

Board Meeting Schedule
  • Tuesday January 21, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, February 18, at 5:30pm (Special Meeting)
  • Tuesday, February 18, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, March 17, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday April 21, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday May 19, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday June 16, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, July 21, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, August 18, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, September 15, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, October 20, at (TBD) (Special Meeting)
  • Tuesday, October 20, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, November 17, at 6:45pm
  • Tuesday, December 15, at 6:45pm

View Current Board Meeting Agenda

View Current Board Meeting Minutes

View Previous Board Meeting Minutes

View Reorganization Meeting Minutes

View Special Board Meeting Agenda

View Special Board Meeting Minutes

Created by Erin Foley on Jun 3rd, 2017 @ 12:26 PM.
Updated on Jan 29th, 2020 @ 11:02 AM.